Una historia de éxitonuevas reglas y menos lesiones en la Lucha Leonesa (2005-2012)

  1. Vicente Martín Sánchez
  2. Tania Fernández Villa
  3. Carlos Ayán Pérez
  4. Antonio José Molina de la Torre
  5. Héctor García Robles
  6. María José Álvarez Álvarez
  7. Miguel Delgado Rodríguez
Apunts: Medicina de l'esport

ISSN: 1886-6581 0213-3717

Year of publication: 2013

Volume: 48

Issue: 178

Pages: 55-61

Type: Article


More publications in: Apunts: Medicina de l'esport


Objective: To analyse the effectiveness of a change in the rules on the incidence of injuries in traditional Leonese Wrestling (LW). Material and methods: Cohort study, retrospective (2006-2007) and prospective (2008-2012). The population studied comprised all the male wrestlers over 16 years of age who took part in Winter League competitions in the seasons 2006-2012. Data collected included the number, location and severity of injuries. Classifying them according to location and severity, the incidence of injuries by bouts and falls before and after the change was calculated. The formula for calculating effectiveness was: 1 –relative risk. Results: Over the 7 seasons, a total of 34 injuries were reported — 9 in the seasons before the change and 25 afterwards. Since the introduction of the new regulations in 2008, no serious upper limb injuries have been reported. Before the change in rules there was an incidence of 10.4 per 1000 bouts and 3.9 for every 1000 falls, the differences being statistically significant (P= .002 and P = .006, respectively). The effectiveness in reducing the incidence of serious injuries was 94% by bouts, and 91% by falls. Conclusions: The results of this study confirm the importance of a methodological approach for the prevention of injuries; in this case a change in the rules

Funding information

This study was partially financed by a research contract between the Territorial Wrestling Federation of Castile and León and the Biomedical Institute of the University of León (2005–2007) and by Research grants from Provincial Government of León (2008–2010).